Custom-embroidered logo shirts and apparel by Queensboro
  Abreu Tops USAC/POWRi/Badger Field At Angell Park
by Bryan Gapinski

Sun Prairie, Wis., June 23-Rico Abreu took advantage of a caution flag with nine laps remaining to win the 11th annual "Sue Thiel Memorial" Sunday night at Angell Park Speedway. The event was tri-sanctioned by the USAC Honda National Midget, POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget and Stark Automotive Group-Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series.

Abreu paced the initial four laps of the feature before Tracy Hines took over the top spot for two circuits. Fast qualifier Caleb Armstrong passed Hines for the lead on lap 7 running the high groove. Armstrong's engine began to misfire on lap ten and stalled while leading.

Numerous close battles throughout the top ten kept the attention of the large crowd. Hines led Abreu, Darren Hagen, Andrew Felker, and Jerry Coons Jr. at the midway point. A caution for a stalled car on Lap 21 bunched up the field.

On the restart Abreu took the lead from Hines and open up a slight advantage. Hagen passed Hines for second place on Lap 24, and chased Abreu for the remainder of the event. Abreu driving the Kunz-Curb-Agajanian No. 67 finished three-car lengths ahead of Hagen. Hines, Coons and Felker completed the top five.

"Angell Park is one of my favorite tracks to race a midget, Keith Kunz and crew had the car perfect for me" commented the 21-year old California driver. The win was his fifth career midget feature victory, second at Angell Park and first in USAC National competition.

Ben Paderta scored a wire to wire victory capturing the 15-lap Badger 600 Micro feature finishing ahead of Jason Dull, Matt Paderta, Jason Tetrault and Vance Lein. Racing at Angell Park continues Sunday Night June 30 with the Badger Midgets, Badger 600 Micros, and the Wisconsin Dirt Legends, followed by the traditional Fireworks display.

30-lap 1. Rico Abreu, 2. Darren Hagen, 3. Tracy Hines, 4. Jerry Coons, Jr., 5. Andrew Felker, 6. Alex Bright, 7. Bryan Clauson, 8. Tanner Thorson, 9. Christopher Bell, 10. Austin Brown, 11. Brad Kuhn, 12. Dave Darland, 13. Zach Daum, 14. Brandon Waelti, 15. Tyler Thomas, 16. Mike Hess, 17. Jake Blackhurst, 18. Dalton Armstrong, 19. Danny Stratton, 20. Casey Shuman, 21. Taylor Ferns, 22. Scott Hatton, 23. Caleb Armstrong, 24. Chase Stockon.

12-lap Semi Feature Winner: Kuhn.
10-lap Heat Race Winners: Ferns, Coons, Hatton.
Fast Time: C. Armstrong, 14.324 seconds.
Cars Present: 27 Feature
Lap Leaders: Abreu 1-4, Hines 5-6, C. Armstrong 7-10, Hines 11-21, Abreu 22-30.

15-lap Feature: 1. Ben Paderta; 2. Jason Dull; 3. Matt Paderta; 4. Jason Tetrault; 5. Vance Lein; 6. Preston Benisch; 7. Will Gerritis; 8. Jake Goeglein; 9. Norm Ehrke; 10. Tory Strauss; 11. Chad Boar; 12. Dustin Stefan; 13. Brian Haugland.
8-lap Heat Race Winners: M. Paderta, Benisch.
Feature Lap Leaders: B. Paderta 1-15.

BADGER 600 MICROS -Sycamore (Ill.) Speedway Saturday June 22
15-lap Feature: 1. Matt Paderta; 2. Chad Boar; 3. Jason Tetrault; 4. Ben Paderta; 5. Will Gerritis; 6. Jason Dull.
8-lap Heat Race Winner: M. Paderta.
Feature Lap Leaders: Dull 1-2, M. Paderta 3-15

  Home Page

Recent News From Angell Park Speedway
  Hagen Blisters Angell Park Field To Win Fredenberg Memorial

  Large Purse Announced For Al Fredenberg Memorial

  Hagen & Reif Headliners At Angell Park

  Daum Last Lap Winner At Angell Park

  Abreu Wins Sue Thiel Memorial In POWRi/USAC/Badger Midgets At Angell Park

Recent News From
  USMTS Hunt Comes To Rice Lake Speedway

  Conrad Morgan Back In Victory Lane After Old Wisconsin 60

  AMSOIL Speedway Results

  Round And Around: Strange Night At Slinger Speedway

  Meyers, Tommy Richards, Southworth, Wojcik, George Richards And Westaby Take Eagle Valley Wins, Inc.