Camping World
  Five Races, Five Faces For Illini Racing Series
by Tom Arthur

Princeton, IL (6/7/08) On a beautiful night for racing at the historic Bureau County Fairgrounds, the Illini Racing Series showed once again how well their rulebook works. The fifth different driver in five races found their way to victory lane, but it wasnít easy.

Doug Orseske picked up his seventh career feature win, his third on dirt. Orseske started his heat from the pole, but did a 360 degree spin in turn one in front of the entire field. The 0 car kept running, but flagman Matt Rahmer had already alertly thrown the yellow flag in anticipation of the big pile-up that never came. Orseske took the lead on third circuit of the 25 lap feature, but was pressured by Joe Knippel until lap 14. Knippel was finally able to clear Orseske just as the red flag was thrown.

The red was to allow the ambulance to leave the infield for a non-race emergency. With the restart based on the previous completed lap, Knippel would have to try again to take the top spot. He wasnít able to, and Orseske became the first driver to win a feature event on our new American Racer tires. A great battle for 3rd was won by Allen Gillis, with Dick Kaiser 4th, and Lamont Critchett 5th.

The second heat was won by Gillis, and the trophy dash hardware went home with the Sean Murphy team, a team who debuted their new car with style.

The Illini Dwarf Car/Mod-Lite Division saw Jeff Norton sweep the heat and feature. The Davenport driver was chased to the feature finish by Bobby Fox in 2nd, David Norton in 3rd, Shon Sanders 4th, and Dan Guss 5th.

The next Illini Racing Series race is June 21st at Bureau County Speedway.

Illini Racing Series Event #5, June 7, 2008 Bureau County Speedway, Princeton, IL
Illini Sportsman Midgets:
Peacock Publishing Heat #1: 1. Lamont Critchett, Chicago Heights, IL #44 Critchett Brothers Racing VW/Stapp; 2. Joe Knippel, Mokena, IL #33 Knippel/Spencer Quad 4/Buzzard; 3. Doug Orseske, Frankfort, IL #0 Orseske Farms Quad 4/Buzzard; 4. Loran Critchett, Jr., Alsip, IL #17 On the Gass Racing VW/Challenger: 5. Scott Dunning, Bolingbrook, IL #1 Knippel/Spencer Illini Focus/Hawk; 6. Scott Koerner, Joliet, IL #4K Task Management Sesco/Bishop.

Spencerís Jewelry Heat #2: Allen Gillis, Westmont, IL #39 Task Management Illini Focus/White; 2. Sean Murphy, Evanston, IL #5 Quad 4/Hawk; 3. Jason Dull, Machesney Park, IL #56 D & D Racing Chevy II/Stealth; 4. Mark Morey, Sugar Grove, IL #3 Morey Enterprises Illini Focus/White; 5. Charlie Holt, Lemont, IL #4H Thompson/Engstrom EcoTech/Stewart; 6. Dick Kaiser, Milwaukee, WI #82 George Racing Enterprises Scream Focus/Buzzard; 7. Tom Shilkuski, Spring Valley, IL #23 Ray Shilkuski Illini Focus/Jack Rich; 8. David Budres, Beloit, WI #31 Knippel/Spencer Quad 4/Ellis.

ADM Real Estate Feature Event (25 laps): 1. Doug Orseske, 2. Joe Knippel, 3. Allen Gillis, 4. Dick Kaiser, 5. Lamont Critchett, 6. Loran Critchett, Jr., 7. Charlie Holt, 8. Mark Morey, 9. Jason Dull, 10. Sean Murphy, 11. Scott Dunning, 12. Scott Koerner, 13. Tom Shilkuski, 14. David Budres

Illini Sportsman Midget Points after 6/7/08: 1. Joe Knippel 1420, 2. Doug Orseske 1300, 3. Lamont Critchett 1276, 4. Loran Critchett 1263, 5. Jason Dull 1195, 6. Allen Gillis 999, 7. Scott Koerner 790, 8. Dick Kaiser 745, 9 Mike Adams Jr. 721,10. Scott Dunning 721, 11. Dan George 661, 12. Mark Morey 625, 13. Eric Nitz 579, 14. Charlie Holt, 548, 15. Freddie Teer 518, 16. David Budres 361, 17. Tom Shilkuski 233, 18. Sean Murphy 226, 19. Eddie Sauer 188, 20. Bob Shreffler 181, 21. Mike Krysiak 120, 22. Ken Dull 5, 23. Jolene Slomka 5.

Illini Dwarf Car/Mod-Lites:
Heat Race: 1. Jerry Norton, Davenport, IA, 2. David Norton, Moline, IL, 3, Shon Sanders, Blue Grass, IA, 4. Bobby Fox, Moline, IL, 5. Rob Guss, Muscatine, IA, 6. Dan Guss, Muscatine, IA, 7. Dan Vincent, Solon, IA, 8. Jeep Leiker, Joliet, IL

Feature Race: 1. Jerry Norton, 2. Bobby Fox, 3. David Norton, 4. Shon Sanders, 5. Dan Guss, 6. Rob Guss, 7. Dan Vincent, 8. Jeep Leiker

Illini Dwarf Car/Mod-Lite Points after 6/7/08: 1. Sean Sanders 563, 2. Jeep Leiker 474, 3. Jerry Norton 300, 4. David Norton 278, 5. David Imming 271, 6. Bobby Fox, 271, 7. Erik Close 263, 8. Dan Guss 233, 9. Rob Guss 233, 10. Dan Vincent 210

  Home Page

Recent News From Illini Racing Series
  Hoosier Mayhew Wins Illini Race In Wisconsin

  Mayhew Makes It Two At Angell Park

  Orseske's Zero the Hero at Rockford

  Mayhew Overcomes Mayhem To Illini Win At Angell Park

  Wreckers To Checkers, Gillis And Critchett Rebuild And Win

Recent News From
  USMTS Hunt Comes To Rice Lake Speedway

  Conrad Morgan Back In Victory Lane After Old Wisconsin 60

  AMSOIL Speedway Results

  Hagen Blisters Angell Park Field To Win Fredenberg Memorial

  Round And Around: Strange Night At Slinger Speedway

  Meyers, Tommy Richards, Southworth, Wojcik, George Richards And Westaby Take Eagle Valley Wins, Inc.